Resources

Colorado Animal Protectors does not guarantee the accuracy of this information but every effort has been made to be sure it is complete and correct. Please advise with updates or recommendations.

GENERAL ANIMAL WELFARE INFORMATION:

  1. Colorado Federation of Animal Welfare Agencies (CFAWA) https://www.cfawa.org/cpages/home --provides vital resource information for connecting with animal welfare groups regionally. The CFAWA Collaboration Committee is committed to consolidating information to help members find the resources they need.
  2. The Metro Denver Animal Welfare Alliance (MDAWA) https://www.mdawalliance.org/ --fosters the collaborative efforts of members to promote humane care for companion animals in the metro community.
  3. Pet Animal Care Facilities Act (PACFA) https://ag.colorado.gov/ics/pacfa --a licensing and inspection program dedicated to protecting the health and well-being of pet animals in facilities throughout Colorado; a branch of the Colorado Department of Agriculture.

DOMESTIC ANIMAL RESCUES, SHELTERS & SANCTUARIES:

  1. Animal Rescue of the Rockies https://arrcolorado.org/ ARRColorado@gmail.com 970-389-8324
  2. Wild Blue Cats Rescue  https://www.wbcats.org/ 719 900 CATS (2287)
  3. Colorado Animal Rescue  https://www.coloradoanimalrescue.org/
  4. Aurora Animal Shelter  https://www.auroragov.org/residents/animal_services/aurora_animal_shelter
  5. Denver Animal Shelter  https://www.denvergov.org/Government/Departments/Animal-Shelter
  6. Angels with Paws Cat Rescue  https://www.angelswithpaws.net/
  7. Pet Adoptions Network  https://pet-net.net/colorado/
  8. RezDowg Rescue  https://www.rezdawgrescue.org/
  9. Maxfund Animal Adoption Center https://maxfund.org/
  10. Small Dog Rescue of Northern Colorado https://www.adoptapet.com/adoption_rescue/91804-small-dog-rescue-of-northern-colorado-loveland-colorado
  11. Denkai Animal Sanctuary https://www.petfinder.com/member/us/co/cortez/denkai-animal-sanctuary-co203/
  12. Foothills Animal Shelter  https://foothillsanimalshelter.org/
  13. Humane Society of Boulder County  https://boulderhumane.org/
  14.  Dumb Friends League Shelter/Buddy Center/Harmony Equine Center  https://www.ddfl.org/
  15. Colorado Horse Rescue https://www.chr.org/ 
  16. Next Step Horse Rescue https://www.nextstephorserescue.org/
  17. Rocky Mountain Horse Rescue  https://rockymountainhorserescue.org/
  18. Blue Rose Ranch Horse Rescue & Sanctuary  http://blueroseranch.org/
  19. Gabriel Bird Foundation  https://thegabrielfoundation.org/

FARM ANIMAL RESCUES & SANCTUARIES:

  1. Luvin Arms Animal Sanctuary  https://www.luvinarms.org/
  2. Broken Shovels Farm Sanctuary  https://brokenshovels.com/
  3. Buck’n R Ranch Animal Rescue  https://brrari.org/pets/
  4. Hog Haven Farm   https://www.hoghavenfarm.org/
  5. Peaceful Prairie Sanctuary  https://peacefulprairie.org/
  6. Peachy Farms, Inc.  https://www.peachyfarms.com/adoptable-animals
  7. Ginger Snap Ranch  https://gingersnap-ranch.business.site/
  8. The Gentlemen’s Club Rooster Rescue  https://www.serenitysprouts.com/roosters

WILDLIFE/BIRD/REPTILE RESCUE AND REHABILITATION SOURCES:

  1. Animal Help Now 303-543-0755--https://ahnow.org/ --emergency response 
  2. Colorado Wildlife Rehabilitators https://wildlife.rescueshelter.com/Colorado --list of registered and licensed wild animal rescuers and rehabilitators.
  3. Wild Animal Sanctuary https://www.wildanimalsanctuary.org/ --A sanctuary for rescued wildlife.
  4. List of rescues in Colorado Springs area: https://www.yellowpages.com/colorado-springs-co/wildlife-rescue
  5. Colorado Wolf & Wildlife Center https://www.wolfeducation.org/ --a rescue and sanctuary for wolves and hybrids
  6. Evergreen Audubon Rescue https://evergreenaudubon.org/nature-conservation/wildlife-rescue-rehabilitation/
  7. Colorado Parks and Wildlife--www.cpw.state.co.us/Documents/RulesRegs/SpecialLicenses/WildlifeRehabilitation/PublicRehabListing.pdf  --list of licensed rehabilitators
  8. Colorado Reptile Humane Society (303) 776-5206
  9. Colorado Wild Rabbit info@coloradowildrabbit.org.--email and allow up to 48 hours for a reply
  10. Greenwood Wildlife Rehabilitation Center https://www.greenwoodwildlife.org/ 303-823-8455—for animals in Boulder County
  11. Urban Wildlife Rescue www.urbanwildliferescue.org (303) 340-4911—for beavers, foxes, raccoons, skunks and squirrels and humane solutions to a variety of wildlife problems, in the Denver metropolitan area and the foothills region.
  12. Second Chance Wildlife Rescue -- http://secondchancewildlife.net/
  13. Colorado Native Bird Care & Conservation https://coloradonativebird.org/index.html
  14. Wild Bird Rescue & Rehabilitation https://wildbirdrehab.com/
  15. Sonflower Ranch Wildlife Rehabilitation Center https://sfrwildliferehab.com/ (303) 641-0301 sfrwildlife@gmail.com

.

Colorado Wildlife Information:

  • If you are involved in a motor vehicle/wild animal collision on state or interstate highways, Colorado State Police must be contacted. They will euthanize the animal and arrange for the disposal of the carcass.
  • In Colorado, it is the responsibility of property owners to dispose of dead animals found on their own property. 
  • Individual city animal control officers will assist with injured or dead wildlife in parks or on city streets.
  • It is unlawful for unlicensed persons to be in possession of wild animals or birds, except for the time it takes to transport them to a licensed rescue or rehabilitation facility.

ANIMAL CONTROL NUMBERS

Below are a list of agencies that can be contacted to report suspected cases of animal cruelty, injured animals or situations such as an animal locked in a hot vehicle.

Colorado Animal Protectors thanks the National Link Coalition for compiling this list.